Drivers CPC - Training Plus - Health & Safety Courses
RTITB Certificate

Course Summary

The Driver CPC (Certificate of Professional Competence) is a scheme designed to improve knowledge and skills of LGV and PCV drivers.

The PCV Periodic Training consists of theory sessions. There are various modules involved in the PCV course. Drivers must complete 35 hours of training every five years. As the driver, you choose the modules which best suit you and the ones you will benefit most from. The most popular modules include:

  •     Drivers’ Hours and Analogue Tachoraphs
  •     Drivers’ Hours and Digital Tachographs
  •     Health and Safety in Transport and Wellbeing
  •     Vehicle and Load Handling Systems and Safe Vehicle Loading

Please note: By law, all drivers must have completed CPC training by 2014.

There is no assessment involved when attending the PCV training modules as this is an attendance course. All candidates will receive an RTITB certificate on completion.

Who is it for?

Anyone who drives professionally throughout the UK and the rest of Europe should attend the PCV (People Carrying Vehicle) Periodic Training course.

You will need

No safety equipment is required in order to take the PCV training course.

Your skill level

Candidates should currently hold a PCV or LGV licence.


Do I need to pay for my training before I do it?

Yes you do, you can pay online when you book your course, or call 0845 872 3411 and pay with a credit card over the phone. Customers with credit terms, please call Training Plus to book your course on 0845 872 3411.

What is the purpose of Driver CPC Training?

The purpose of Driver CPC training is to improve road safety, improving career opportunities and improve a drivers knowledge and skills.

Will the PCV course affect me?

If you professionally drive a bus, coach or minibus, this course will affect you and will improve your skill and knowledge. This does not include drivers who are exempt.

How often do I have to do the periodic training?

Drivers must complete 35 hours of training every five years until the time comes when they do not wish to drive professionally in categories C and/or D.